Is your information private? Not on Facebook.

It seems that every other day Facebook is leaking confidential information to some place or another. For some reason, this does not dissuade users from restricting what they put on their profiles. Its getting more and more like the wild west these days. There are ways to protect yourself, and stay online on social networking sites, but no one seems to care anymore.

I am not one of the people that likes to post a lot of personally identifiable information on the internet.  I am not a celebrity, and I don’t need my personal life on broadcast.  Professionally, I try to get as visible as possible.  Even with restricting what I post on social networking sites, I still like to have a check up and ensure that I didn’t miss something.  Especially with the way things keep changing.  Most nerds know that scanning your computer with a 1 year old antivirus will be worthless, so why expect the same thing for a social network security checker? And why think since you checked your privacy last month, its still secure?

First, my tip is to remove all your phone numbers, your address, your social security number, your blood type, and whatever else you may have thought important to post on the internet.

Next, run a scan, and see how you stack up. You might be surprised at how vulnerable you actually are to people snooping on your personal information. Check out, http://www.reclaimprivacy.org/

Leave a comment